认识 Smita Sah

 
 Smita Sah, Counsellor, Taylors College Sydney

辅导员
泰勒学院悉尼校区

SmitaSah 的工作职责是与每个人成为朋友——她非常热爱她的工作。Smita 每天的大多数时间都花费在倾听学生的思想以及为他们提供咨询服务。

Smita 出生于印度,由于她的父亲是军人,因此她形成性格的时期都在全国旅行中度过的。小的时候,Smita 已到过了很多地方,她来到新的地方后便和不同阶层的人们交流。

作为一名澳大利亚移居者,Smita 已搬迁到悉尼 8 年多,她很了解国际学生通常是什么样的性格。

“我非常理解我们的学生最初感受到的漂泊感以及随之而来的失落感和孤立感。”

Smita 通过‘到达’、‘生存’、及‘茁壮成长’这几个步骤来帮助和辅导泰勒的学生。“通过这几个步骤来引导学生是一个非常值得尝试的经验,看到学生的进步,我总是感到很开心”。

Smita 记得一名患有恐慌症的学生。“该学生内心充满了恐惧,他不能完成测验,实际上还放弃了整个课程。他花费了大量时间来咨询,以便获得支持性建议。当测验时间快到了,他的焦虑便达到了最严重状态,咨询就变得更加紧张。”

“测验那天,该学生极为恐惧,将他带到我的面前的时候他处于非常痛苦的状态。我用了一个小时的时间来开导他,是他恢复足够的镇静,以便再次参加测验。他的老师提供了足够的支持,使他可在当天下午用额外附加的时间完成测验。”

“对于该学生来说,参加测验是一项难以想象的挑战,但是他终于鼓起勇气面对他内心的恐惧,把精力集中在完成试卷上。”

“最后,该学生获得了此次测验的最高分,并通过了他在悉尼大学里所选择的课程的考试。我感到如释重负般的轻松,并且为他感到高兴。”

这是该学生的故事,当然还有其它故事,它们使 Smita 工作时更有成就感。

在线咨询

想到泰勒学院学习吗?

立即申请

Why Taylors

Smita Sah

Counsellor
Taylors College Sydney

It’s Smita Sah’s job to be everybody’s friend – and it’s a job she thrives at. As our own resident Oprah, Smita spends most of her day listening to and counseling students.

Born in India, Smita’s father was in the Army so her formative years were spent traveling all over the country. From a young age, she developed a love of travel, seeing new places and interacting with people from different walks of life.

As a migrant to Australia, having moved to Sydney over 8 years ago, Smita understands what it’s like for international students.

“I strongly empathise with the initial sense of displacement that our students feel and also the accompanying feelings of loss and a sense of isolation.”

Smita helps and counsels Taylors students through the stages of ‘arriving’, ‘surviving’ and ‘thriving’. “Guiding students through these stages is a deeply rewarding experience and I am continually amazed at their progress”.

She fondly recalls one student who suffered panic attacks. “He was so overcome by fear that he was unable to finish the exam and actually gave up on the entire course as well. He spent many hours in counseling getting supportive advice. As the day of the exam approached, the student’s anxieties started to peak and the counseling sessions became more intense.”

“On the day of the exam, the student was overcome with a paralyzing fear and was brought to me in a distressed state. I spent over an hour counseling him and calming him down enough to be able to take the exam again. His teachers were supportive enough to allow him to finish the paper later that afternoon with extra time.”

“It was an incredible challenge but the student mustered the courage to face his inner fears and focus on finishing the paper.”

“In the end the student scored top marks and got through to the course of his choice at the University of Sydney. I was enormously relieved and happy for him.”

It’s this student’s story and others that make Smita’s job all the more fulfilling.

Want to study at Taylors College?

Apply Now

Pay your fees now via our online payment service

PayOnline